About the District

  • The Central Square Central School District is more than 200 square miles in size, making it the largest school district by land size alone in the state of New York, and the largest public school district in the region. The Central Square Central School District located in Oswego County, New York, spreads across the three counties of Oswego, Onondaga, and Oneida. The District is primarily based in Oswego County, and includes all of the towns of Hastings, West Monroe, and Constantia, plus parts of the towns of Palermo, Mexico, and Parish. Portions of the Onondaga towns of Cicero and Clay, and the Oneida town of Vienna are also part of the District. The Villages of Central Square and Cleveland, plus the hamlets of Brewerton, Bernhard’s Bay, and Mallory are within the District.

    In 2017, the District closed the stand-alone district office building located at 642 South Main Street in the Village of Central Square, which was a financial savings to the District.  The majority of the district offices are now located within Paul V. Moore High School and the Food Services Department is housed at Central Square Middle School. Having these district offices located within a school building has provided an opportunity for our District level administrators to be in greater contact with students and staff, thus strengthening the school community and illustrating the District’s motto, “As one we rise, together we soar.”

    There are four elementary schools that are all comprised of Pre-Kindergarten through fifth grade students: (Brewerton Elementary located in Brewerton, NY, A.A. Cole Elementary located in Constantia, NY, Hastings-Mallory Elementary located in Hastings, NY, and Millard Hawk Elementary located in the Village of Central Square). The Central Square Middle School is comprised of sixth through eighth grade students and is located in Central Square, NY, and Paul V. Moore High School is located in the Village of Central Square. 

    The District has approximately 3600 students enrolled and employs over 700 full-time staff members. The Superintendent of Schools is Mr. Thomas J. Colabufo, and the Board of Education President is Allison Douglas. Every student in the District has access to an electronic device to assist in their learning which is one of many ways “we are empowering students to excel as citizens in a changing world,” which is our daily mission for all students.