Central Square Middle School Clubs and Activities

  • 2023-2024

    Central Square Middle School 

    Clubs and Activities

     

     

    Central Square Middle School Afterschool Activities

    Activity 

    Supervisor(s) Description 

    Meeting Days

    Location


    Weightlifting

    Fitness 

    7th & 8th grade students that want to get stronger and condition for sports can come and use the weightroom.


    See Mr. Mahaney Rm 117 or Mr. Shaughnessy Rm 124

    Dec - Mar

    Mon,Tue,Thu

    (added 11/28)

    Weight

    Rm

    The Ripple Effect

    The Ripple Effect@ CSMS is a group of students who work together to help make our school a place where everyone feels welcome and accepted. We seek to bring forth projects and initiatives that can help encourage students to be kinder to one another through both their words and their actions. We will meet weekly on Mondays in room 240. Advisors: Leah Haines & Jenny Trumble

    Mondays

    Oct-May

    (added 11/22)

    Rm. 240

    Painting 

    Painting with O’Mara 

    Limited number of spots, painting with teacher afterschool.

    GRADE 6 Students 

    Eomara@cssdapps.org 

    Oct- May 

    12x /year

    (added 11/6)

    Rm. 114 

    Marvel Board Game Group

    Students will play Marvel Dice Throne and Marvel United board games. These games encourage collaboration, strategic thinking and student interaction.


    MHatch@cssdapps.org  or Room 227

    Nov- June 

    Tuesdays 



    ( added 11/1)

    Rm. 227 

    Ski/Snow

    board 

    Mr. Hatch 

    MHatch@cssdapps.org  or Room 227

    The Main Office has Registration and Permission Slips.

       1/4/2024    1/11/2024 1/18/2024  1/25/2024  2/01/2024  2/08/2024

    Thursdays 


    Jan- Feb


    (added 10/13))

    Main Office has Registration and Permission Slips 

     



    Pokemon 



    Mr. Davis 


    Beginners and experienced players are welcome.  

    Tdavis@cssdapps.org 




    Wednesdays



    (added 10/4/23)




    Library 

    Chess 

    Mrs. Williamson 


    Learn the fundamentals of chess.

    Rwilliamson@cssdapps.org

    Tuesdays

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm. 127

    Newspaper Club

    Mrs. Williamson 


    Students will be writing articles for the school Newspaper and researching topics of interest. All grade levels are welcome.

    Rwilliamson@cssdapps.org 

    Oct- May 

    2x month

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm.127

    Creative Lettering 

    Mrs. Roukous


     Learn how to write in cursive & calligraphy




    Proukous@cssdapps.org

    Tuesdays

    (added 9/25/23) 

    Rm. 212




    DECA

    Mrs. Thomas 

    Learn important teach skills (problem solving, 

    collaboration, critical thinking). This is a pilot 

    program, open to 8th grade only.

    Pthomas@cssdapps.org 

    Thursdays

    (added 9/25/23) 

    Rm 107

    Dungeons and Dragons Club

    Mr. Knight, Mr. Alaimo, Mr. Vecchio 

     

    Students learn to play Dungeon & Dragons, which 

    exposes them to problem solving, abstract 

    thinking, creative thinking and design, and allows 

    them to self-manage group interactions within a 

    creative environment. All materials provided. 


    Tknight@cssdapps.org

    Palaimo@cssdapps.org 

    Nvecchio@cssdapps.org 

    Thursdays

    (added 9/25/23) 

    Library 

    Sewing Circle!

    Ms. Whyte (Charles)


    Students will learn the basics of machine sewing. I 

    have several community service projects including 

    making reusable baby wipes from flannel for 

    donation. Open to ALL grades.  limit  12.


    Jcharles@cssdapps.org 

    Mondays & Tuesdays 

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm. 126

     

    Mr. Shelton & Ms. Mesic 

    Jazz Band 


     Offered to 7th and 8th grade only. 

                                                                      

    mmesic@cssdapps.org

    gshelton@cssdapps.org

    Sept-June

    (added 9/25/23)

    Band room

    Pep Band

    Mr. Shelton & Ms. Mesic

       

     Offered to 6th grade only.


    Pep band is an ensemble of instrumentalists who play,

    with the purpose of entertaining and creating enthusiasm

     in a crowd.


    mmesic@cssdapps.org

    gshelton@cssdapps.org

    Nov-

    Feb

     

    (added 9/25/23)

    Band room

    Bulletin Board Club

    Ms. Baye

    Ms. Podejko

     Students will help revamp the sports showcase by the gym with updated pictures of 2023-2024 sports season and accomplishments. Our club will also be working on bulletin boards throughout the teachers' classrooms and hallways. We will be updating old bulletins with new ideas from students' ideas. This club is open to 6th, 7th and 8th grade.

    dbaye@cssdapps.org

    lpodejko@cssdapps.org

    Wednesdays

    (added 9/25/23)

    Hallway

    Area

    Meet in Rm 145

    Arts and Crafts Club

    Ms. Goldman

    Ms. Post

    Crafts Club is a fun way for students to learn about making household objects into works of art. Crafts explore themes such as culture, science, and math. Through these crafts, students learn background information about each of the themes. All grade levels are welcome.

    bgoldman@cssdapps.org    and    epost@cssdapps.org

    Oct-May


    1st & 3rd Thursday of the month.


    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 240

     

    CLUB IS FULL AT THIS TIME 








    Grade 7 & 8  Jazz Heroes

    Mrs. Ziemba 


    An auditioned 7th and 8th grade vocal jazz group that performs through the year. 


    kmccarthyziemba@cssdapps.org

    Mondays 

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 105 

    Winter Percussion Ensemble 


    Mrs. Ziemba


    Students will rehearse to perform and compete in 4/5 NYSPC shows including the NYS percussion Circuit Championship. This is open to all students that participate in band or chorus. Percussion experience is not necessary. It will also require  Saturday morning rehearsals and 4 /5 full day Saturday competitions.



    kmccarthyziemba@cssdapps.org

    Late Nov- Beginning of April


    Tuesdays & Saturdays


    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 105

    Board Game Group 

    Mrs. Ziemba  


    Students will learn to play various cooperative and

    competitive board games while developing social and problem solving skills. 

                                                      

    Kmccarthyziemba@cssdapps.org

    Thursdays 

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 105 

     

    Math League 

    Mrs. Brown 

    Mrs. Popovich 

    Compete in 5 matches - 1 field trip


    Jbrown@cssdapps.org  

    Jpopovich@cssdapps.org

    Tuesdays 

    (1x/month)

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm. 220

    Circuit Crafts


    Mrs. Marshall

    Mrs. Metrick

     

    Learn to use and design space software, hot to weed vinyl, transfer adhesive vinyl and apply heat transfer vinyl. Limit 8 students per group, two different groups will run each month.


    bmetrick@cssdapps.org

    lmarshall@cssdapps.org

    Mondays

    (added 9/25/23)

    Library

    Wellness 

    Activities

    Mrs. Gallagher  

     

    Engage in activities to build Social Emotional Skills.    

    Practice strategies to improve wellness.


    lgallagher@cssdapps.org                            

    Oct - 

    May

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm. 125

     

    CSMS Musical Formerly known as Drama Club

    Mrs. Ziemba

    Mrs. Mullin

    Students will rehearse to perform a MUSICAL! in May. Students will learn the basics about performing on stage. As it is a musical, students will also be singing and dancing and having an all around joyous time. Students will be auditioning in February.

    kmccarthyziemba@cssdapps.org

    Feb-May


    Begins in FEBRUARY. Show announcement will be at the information meeting in February. 


    (added 9/25/23)

    Cafe, Rms 

    104 and 105

    Student 

    Leadership


    Mrs. Heffernan 

    Ms. McClellan 


    Students will work to create a positive and engaged student body at CSMS. Students will work to bring activities to the school community that connect students to students and also students to staff.

    All Year 

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 207 

    Artist 

    Assemble

    Grades 7 & 8 

     

    Mr. Williamson


    Students in Grades 7 & 8 will explore various  art mediums and work towards developing  their personal art styles. This open studio time will have themed sessions students can sign up for and will be capped at 16 students.


    pwilliamson@cssdapps.org

    Oct- June 

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 129

    Artist Assemble 

    Grade 6


    Mr. Shehadi


    Students in 6th grade will explore various art mediums and work towards developing  their personal art styles.



    mshehadi@cssdapps.org 

    Thursdays

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 128

    Yearbook

    Mrs. Williamson


    Students will be taking pictures, and organizing yearbook pages to create another great yearbook at CSMS. All grade levels are welcome to participate.  Limited to 12 students.


    rwilliamson@cssdapps.org

    Oct - May

    2x month

    (added 9/25/23)

    Rm 127